Our Leadership

Board of Trustees


President: Eric Eisenstadt

Vice President for Administration: Don Hirsch

Vice President for Programming & Committees:  Risa May

Vice President for Membership:  TBD

Vice President for Development: Sam Schwall

Treasurer: Stuart Dornfeld

Secretary:  Ellen Rugel

Immediate Past President: Andy Cohen


Rachel Coehlo
Gail Dezube
Bob Fenster
Leslie Hutchens
Jim Kranzberg
Ana Leirner
Laurie Levine
Ronni Levine
Robyn Mehlenbeck
Abbe Pascal
Ariana Raines
Mary Ann Ressin
Alexandra Sleeper
Ruth Ann Whalen
Samantha Wiegand

Eric and Bess Eisenstadt

2019 Board President Eric Eisenstadt with his wife Bess.

Committees at NVHC

Interested in getting involved or have a question about an organization at NVHC? Contact the relevant person listed below, or call our office at 703-437-7733.

Committee Chairs


Brotherhood President: Bob Fenster

Sisterhood President: Fay Gubin

Early Childhood Committee Chair Co-Chairs: Mary Ann Ressin & Kelly Schulman

Kehilat Limmud Committee Chair: Ariana Raines

Tamid Committee Chair: Ruth Ann Whalen

Engagement and Support

Caring (NVHC Cares):  Laurie Levine

Social Action: Ellen Ranard

Chavurot:  Karen Singer

Chevra Kadisha: Position Open

College Outreach:  Judy Naiman

Engagement Committee: Position Open

Inclusion Initiative: Position Open

Silver Line: Marsha Sheinman

VOICE Core Team: Lisa Folb and Meryl Paskow

Worship & Music

Choir Committees: Cantor Susan Caro 

Shammas CorpsKen Laskey

Worship: Susan Trivers

Educational Programs and Committees

Speaker Series:  Eric Forman

Lifelong Learning (Adult Education) : Ellen Rugel

Preschool: Position Open

Youth Programs: Sam Blum

Administration and Governance

Art Committee: Nancy Kruger

Judaica Boutique:  Shawn Harris

Building and Grounds:  Open position

Communications: Emily Hummel

Finance: Judy Naiman

Library:  Ted Smith

Pulpit:  Hana Newcomb

Safety and Security:  Ken Laskey

Strategic Development: Sam Schwall

Technology: Bruce Johnson and Stu Williger